Logo ATLAS

Foundation for digital transformation of industrial sectors

logo-AFIS
Logo-MINnDS2
logo-Alliance-industrie-du-futur-ok

In 2020, under the impetus of AFNeT, an association that has been boosting and accompanying French industry in its Digital Transformation for more than 40 years, the 4 multi-sectoral pre-standardization associations, AFNeT, AIF, MINnD and AFIS are setting up the ATLAS Program They set up the ATLAS program in answer to the Government's call for projects on the issue of "Mutualization of resources at the service of industries and digital platforms of industries", managed by the SGPI, the DGE, the MTES and the BPI included in the Recovery Plan.

dge
LOGO-BPI-FRANCE

The ATLAS program, winner of the call for tenders, received a budget of €10.5 million, financed half by the industrial sectors and half by the public authorities (BPI), and established its planning over 3 years (2020-2023) with one goal: to serve as a foundation for the Digital Transformation and the Ecological Transition of the industrial sectors industrielles.

logo secretariat general investissement
logo-Ministère_de_la_Transition_Écologique_et_Solidaire_(depuis_2017).svg

THE ATLAS VISION

For the biggest industrial companies, more than 70% of products or services value is realized by the suppliers, mostly SMEs. Competitiveness is now played out between extended enterprises. Digital technology is essential in the company and to operate as an extended enterprise with its partners, to innovate, to reduce costs and lead times and to export.

To support these companies in their Digital Transition, the ATLAS objectives have been defined as follows:

  • To serve as a foundation for the Digital Transformation of industrial sectors, across the entire value chain: System Engineering, PLM, Industry of the Future, Logistics, Maintenance, Digital Twinning, Data and Infrastructure, BIM.
  • Facilitate digital continuity and interoperability with standards Create the ATLAS French Team (AFNeT, AIF, AFIS, MINnD) of Norms and Standards, in partnership with AFNOR
  • Pooling the efforts of all companies and industrial sectors
  • Putting the Digital Transition at the service of the Ecological Transition
  • Ensuring our Digital Sovereignty and Security
  • Create a sustainable business support structure, AFNeT Services, controlled by industrial investors
ATLAS schéma 1(png)

The project is certainly ambitious but absolutely necessary in the face of the health and ecological emergency that we are all now facing. ATLAS is not a utopia, the system was tested and approved by the Aeronautics and Construction sectors before the birth of the program, which is therefore rooted in these success stories:

"ATLAS should be seen as a project factory: projects are grouped by Domains that cover the entire product life cycle. These domains have been chosen by the sectors themselves as their priorities for their Digital and Ecological Transformation. ATLAS is in fact an extension of the actions carried out in previous years with the Aeronautics and Construction sectors, which have been working for several years in "project mode", in other words with concrete business objectives, governance, schedules, budgets, deadlines, deliverables and above all operational results for manufacturers. Between them, they had a budget of almost one million euros each year to finance ATLAS-type work, so finally we are moving from two to fifteen channels. What's more, we are extending to 8 areas what we were doing mainly in the PLM, System Engineering, Logistics, Maintenance, and BIM* areas.
Pierre Faure
Pierre Faure
President of AFNeT, Co-President and Director of the ATLAS Program, Former Director of e-business and CRM at Dassault Aviation, Founder and first CEO of the European Digital Aeronautics Hub BoostAeroSpace

Le système ATLAS : Un système qui a fait ses preuves dans L'AÉRONAUTIQUE ET LA CONSTRUCTION

The ATLAS system is inspired by the leitmotiv that its Co-President and Program Director has been applying for over 40 years «"Playing collectively, to win together"and thus creating a virtuous circle from which all industry will soon benefit:

Company X has a need and can dedicate 100K€ to it; it confronts it with the needs of companies B, C and D which are part of its sector of activity, have the same need and also have 100K€ to dedicate. The ATLAS expert teams then allow them to better define this need and to find, if necessary, other sectors of activity confronted with the same subject in order to make it an "ATLAS project".

In the diagram above, the 8 ATLAS domains are distributed over the life cycle of an industrial product, the square root showing that the life of a product is longer than its design and manufacture, the maintenance being able to extend to infinity.

Once the project is defined, ATLAS has the capacity not only to integrate it quickly into its roadmap, but also to double the "start-up" money thanks to the Public Authorities. Therefore, if the companies had 100 K€ each to invest, they benefit from an additional 400 K€, and a total budget of 800 K€, a dedicated work team and the support of ATLAS.

Thanks to this system, some 40 projects have already been funded this year and the ATLAS teams expect 20 more before the end of the year.

ATLAS_schema_4_20211020
"We can see that a lot of results of our work are themselves inputs that will be used for other projects, whether in terms of technology, orientation or strategy. It will enable us to define the standards we need to develop tomorrow, and the methods we use will of course be shared with the various players. The objective is really to evolve together."
Jean Brangé
Jean Brangé
Scientific and Technical Director of the ATLAS Program
ATLAS_Schema_5_20211020(png)

And for Pierre Faure, this is just the beginning: "ATLAS is simply the beginning of a great collective dynamic that will continue beyond 2023 with the industrial sectors and the help of AFNeT Services, which is the linchpin of ATLAS today and will remain the linchpin of standards and interoperability after 2023."

The idea is to finance and launch projects for France to be able to meet industrial needs in all fields and at the international level, as is already the case in PLM and Construction, where France is in close cooperation with the United States and Germany.

AFNeT has already integrated European projects into ATLAS by co-leading the Gaïa-X Smart Manufacturing working group with AIF and CEA, and by playing a major role in Gaïa-X governance, in particular by making its human and financial resources available to Gaïa-X's industrial and ecological working groups.

ATLAS_Schema_6_20211020(png)

In its governance, ATLAS also wants to be transverse

The diagram below explains the governance of ATLAS which starts from its core: the projects.
These projects are divided into 8 domains, themselves chaired by an industrialist (Airbus for PLM, Bouygues Construction for BIM, Schneider Electric for the Production of the Future, THALES for the Digital Twin, etc.) and managed by an ATLAS partner (AFNeT being responsible for a majority of domains). This responsibility translates into program management and the provision of technical coordinators, experts in their field, who orchestrate and feed the work.

The ATLAS Program is by definition transverse since its goal is to promote cross-fertilization. Its Program Committee is representative of this transversality. It ensures the overall cohesion of ATLAS, in particular by balancing funding and ensuring all transverse coordination.

Finally, the Strategic Committee, made up of funders (industrial sectors and public authorities), partners and domain presidents, is in charge of the major strategic orientations, the mobilization of sectors, to give maximum means and visibility to the program. This organization is implemented in collaboration with AFNOR, to ensure that the results of this work are promoted and put into service within the French industry, but also internationally, at ISO or CEN.

ATLAS_schema_7_20211020(png)

Today, 34 projects have already been funded with a goal of 50 by the end of the year, the program's 8 domain committees are in battle order, our teams are being strengthened with the hiring of 4 people, including 3 domain technical coordinators, and and the governance is effective

Logo ATLAS

ATLAS : Socle de la Transformation Numérique des filières industrielles

logo-AFIS
Logo-MINnDS2
logo-Alliance-industrie-du-futur-ok

En 2020, sous l’impulsion de l’AFNeT, association qui depuis plus de 40 ans booste et accompagne l’industrie française dans sa Transformation Numérique, les 4 associations multisectorielles de pré-normalisation, l’AFNeT, l’AIF, MINnD et l’AFIS montent le Programme ATLAS pour répondre à l’appel à projets du Gouvernement sur la problématique : « Mutualisation de moyens au service des filières et plateformes numériques de filières », piloté par le SGPI, la DGE, le MTES et la BPI incluse dans le Plan Relance.

dge
LOGO-BPI-FRANCE

Le Programme ATLAS, lauréat de l’appel d’offre, remporte un budget de 10,5 M€ financé pour moitié par les filières industrielles, pour moitié par les Pouvoirs Publics (BPI) et établit son planning sur 3ans (2020-2023) avec un objectif : servir de socle à la Transformation Numérique et à la Transition Écologique des filières industrielles.

logo secretariat general investissement
logo-Ministère_de_la_Transition_Écologique_et_Solidaire_(depuis_2017).svg

LA VISION D'ATLAS

Pour les grandes entreprises industrielles, plus de 70 % de la valeur des produits ou des services est réalisée par les fournisseurs, majoritairement des PME. La compétitivité se joue maintenant entre entreprises étendues. Le numérique est indispensable dans l’entreprise et pour fonctionner en entreprise étendue avec ses partenaires, innover, réduire les coûts et les délais et exporter.

Pour accompagner ces entreprises dans leur Transition Numérique, les objectifs d’ATLAS ont été définis comme suit :

  • Servir de socle à la Transformation Numérique des filières industrielles, sur toute la chaîne de la valeur : Ingénierie Système, PLM, Industrie du Futur, Logistique, Maintenance, Jumeau Numérique, Données et Infrastructures, BIM.
  • Faciliter la continuité numérique et l’interopérabilité avec les standards Créer l’Équipe de France ATLAS (AFNeT, AIF, AFIS, MINnD) des Normes et Standards, en partenariat avec l’AFNOR
  • Mutualiser les efforts de l’ensemble des entreprises et des filières industrielles
  • Mettre la Transition Numérique au service de la Transition Écologique
  • Assurer notre Souveraineté Numérique et notre Sécurité
  • Créer une structure pérenne de soutien aux entreprises, AFNeT Services, contrôlée par des investisseurs industriels
ATLAS schéma 1(png)

Projet certes ambitieux mais absolument nécessaire face à l’urgence sanitaire et écologique à laquelle nous sommes tous désormais confronté. ATLAS n’est pourtant pas une utopie, le système a été testé et approuvé par les filières de l’Aéronautique et de la Construction avant la naissance du Programme, qui prend donc racine dans ces Success Story:

«ATLAS doit être vu comme une usine à projets : les projets sont regroupés par Domaines dont l’ensemble balaie le cycle de vie des produits. Ces Domaines ont d’ailleurs été choisis par les filières elles- mêmes comme étant leurs priorités pour leur Transformation Numérique et Écologique. ATLAS est en fait l’extension des actions menées les années précédentes avec l'Aéronautique et la Construction, qui travaillent depuis plusieurs années déjà en « mode projet », c’est-à-dire avec des objectifs business concrets, une gouvernance, des plannings, des budgets, des délais, des livrables et surtout des résultats opérationnels pour les industriels. A elles deux, elles disposaient d’un budget de presque un million d’euros chaque année pour financer des travaux type ATLAS, donc finalement nous passons de deux à quinze filières. De plus, nous étendons à 8 domaines ce que nous faisions surtout dans les domaines PLM, Ingénierie Système, Logistique, Maintenance, et BIM* »
Pierre Faure
Pierre Faure
Président de l’AFNeT, Co-Président et Directeur du Programme ATLAS, Ancien Directeur e-business et CRM de Dassault Aviation, Fondateur et premier PDG du Hub Aéronautique Numérique Européen BoostAeroSpace

Le système ATLAS : Un système qui a fait ses preuves dans L'AÉRONAUTIQUE ET LA CONSTRUCTION

Le système d’ATLAS s’inspire du Leitmotiv que son Co-Président et Directeur de Programme applique depuis plus de 40 ans déjà «Jouer collectif, pour gagner ensemble», ainsi se crée un cercle vertueux dont toute l’industrie pourra bientôt bénéficier :

L’entreprise X a un besoin et peut y dédier 100K€; elle le confronte aux besoins des entreprises B, C et D qui font partie de son secteur d’activité, ont le même besoin et ont, elles aussi, 100K€ à lui consacrer. Les équipes d’experts d’ATLAS leur permettent alors de mieux définir ce besoin et de trouver, si nécessaire, d’autres secteurs d’activité confronté au même sujet afin d’en faire un « projet ATLAS».

Dans le schéma ci-dessus, les 8 domaines d’ATLAS sont répartis sur le cycle de vie d’un produit industriel, la racine carrée démontrant que la vie d’un produit est plus longue que sa conception et sa fabrication, la maintenance pouvant elle, s’allonger à l’infini.

Une fois le projet défini, ATLAS a la capacité non seulement de l’intégrer rapidement à sa feuille de route, mais également de doubler la «mise de départ» grâce à l’argent des Pouvoirs Publics. Ainsi, si les entreprises avaient 100 K€ chacune à investir, elles bénéficient de 400 K€ supplémentaires, et donc d’un budget total de 800 K€, d’une équipe de travail dédiée et de l’accompagnement d’ATLAS.

Grâce à ce système, une quarantaine de projets ont déjà été financés cette année et les équipes d’ATLAS en attendent 20 de plus avant la fin de l’année.

ATLAS_schema_4_20211020
"On voit que beaucoup des résultats de nos travaux sont eux-mêmes des inputs qui serviront à d’autres projets, que ce soit en termes de technologie, d’orientation ou de stratégie. Cela va nous permettre de définir les standards à développer demain et les méthodes que nous exploiterons seront bien sûr partagées avec les différents acteurs. L’objectif est véritablement d’évoluer ensemble"
Jean Brangé
Jean Brangé
Directeur Scientifique et Technique du Programme ATLAS
ATLAS_Schema_5_20211020(png)

Et pour Pierre Faure, ceci n’est qu’un début : «ATLAS est simplement l’amorçage d’une grande dynamique collective qui va se poursuivre au-delà de 2023 avec les filières industrielles et l’aide d’AFNeT Services qui est la cheville ouvrière d’ATLAS aujourd’hui et restera la cheville ouvrière des standards et de l’interopérabilité après 2023 ».

L’idée est de financer et lancer des projets pour que la France puisse répondre aux besoins industriels sur l’ensemble des domaines et au niveau international, comme c’est déjà le cas sur le PLM et la Construction, où la France est en coopération étroite avec les États-Unis et l’Allemagne.

D’ailleurs l’AFNeT a déjà intégré des projets européens au sein d’ATLAS en co-animant avec l’AIF et le CEA le groupe de travail Smart Manufacturing de Gaïa-X, et en jouant un rôle majeur dans la gouvernance Gaïa-X, notamment en mettant ses moyens humains et financiers au service des GT industriels ou écologiques de Gaïa-X.

ATLAS_Schema_6_20211020(png)

Dans sa gouvernance aussi ATLAS se veut tranverse

Le schéma ci-dessous explique la gouvernance d’ATLAS qui part de son cœur : les projets.
Ces projets sont répartis dans les 8 domaines, eux-mêmes présidés par un industriel (Airbus pour le PLM, Bouygues Construction pour le BIM, Schneider Electric pour la Production du Futur, THALES pour le Jumeau Numérique, etc) et gérés par un partenaire ATLAS (l’AFNeT ayant la responsabilité d’une majorité de domaines). Cette responsabilité se traduit par direction du Programme et la mise à disposition de coordinateurs techniques, experts dans leur domaine, qui orchestrent et nourrissent les travaux.

Le Programme ATLAS est par définition transverse puisque son but consiste à favoriser la fertilisation croisée, son Comité de Programme est représentatif de cette transversalité. Il assure la cohésion globale d’ATLAS notamment en équilibrant les financements et en assurant toute la coordination transverse.

Enfin, le Comité Stratégique, composé des financeurs, (les filières industrielles et les Pouvoirs Publics), des partenaires et des présidents de domaines, est en charge des grandes orientations stratégiques, de la mobilisation des filières, pour donner un maximum de moyens et de visibilité au Programme. Cette organisation est mise en œuvre main dans la main avec l’AFNOR, afin que les résultats des travaux soient valorisés et mis en service au sein de l’industrie française mais aussi à l’international, à l’ISO ou au CEN.

ATLAS_schema_7_20211020(png)

Aujourd’hui, 34 projets sont déjà financés avec un objectif de 50 d’ici la fin de l’année, les 8 comités de domaines du programme sont en ordre de bataille, nos équipes se renforcent avec l’arrivée de 4 personnes dont 3 coordinateurs techniques de domaine, et la gouvernance est effective.