Skip to content
Article MoSimCArt

MoSimCart

A cartography for Models and Simulations

For performance of the entity of interest lifecycle processes, companies use different types of methods, processes and tools depending on their business and strategy. The development of models and simulations allows analyzing, estimating, and evaluating principles, properties, and attributes without necessity to have the entity of interest available in its real operating conditions. M&S are complementary activities to define and collectively provide data necessary for explicit decision making and performance of the lifecycle processes. To ease the performance of these lifecycle processes, it is important to get a cartography of kinds of models and simulations (M&S Cartography), with a mapping per lifecycle phase, with regards to usable standards, methodologies, activities, and tools.

Image_article_MoSimCart

The M&S cartography project, called MoSimCart in the ATLAS program, proposes a framework assessed through specific use cases. This framework defines M&S typologies per entity of interest lifecycle phase, with features to store, query and visualize information items collected, assessed, and established with experts of the exploited domains. The ATLAS lifecycle framework also proposes to identify phases sharing relevant standards with potential relations between kinds of models and simulations. The Figure 1 gives an example of considered characteristics as purpose, nature, languages, standards, and methods.

The MoSimCart project aims at providing very flexible and customizable visualization features in order to show the various perspectives from a model, a simulation or a lifecycle phase point of view. From one point of view, the framework can visualize the related other information items. This allows various analyses of mapping of models and simulations along the lifecycle of an entity of interest according to business cases. Figure 2 gives an example of what can be done with a graph representation. For a given model, links are given for expected lifecycle phases with associated simulation components. This model-centric viewpoint could move to a simulation-centric adapted viewpoint of a entity of interest lifecycle stage.

The deliverables of the project contribute to better formalize a solution description, improve solution trustworthiness, better sustain solution lifecycle, improve communication with stakeholders, better manage the solution and value added, and improve knowledge and reuse of models, simulations patterns.

Image2_Article_MoSimCArt

Participants

Thales, Nexter, Airbus and Renault are participating in this project.

Call for participation and collaboration

ATLAS is pleased to welcome additional participants: to join this initiative contact Myriam Nouvel or Pascal Hubert.

This project is open for collaboration with other associations over the world, with the objective to turn this initiative to an international project.

CONTACTS

PROJECT MANAGER : 

INDUSTRY CHAIR :

Pascal Hubert, AFNeT Services

Myriam Nouvel, Thales

Share this article

RELATED ARTICLES:

Article MoSimCArt

MoSimCart

Une cartographie pour les Modèles et Simulations

Pour la performance des processus du cycle de vie d’une entité d’intérêt, les entreprises utilisent différents types de méthodes, de processus et d’outils en fonction de leurs activités et stratégies. Le développement de modèles et de simulations permet d’analyser, d’estimer et d’évaluer les principes, les propriétés et les attributs sans qu’il soit nécessaire d’avoir l’entité d’intérêt disponible dans les conditions de fonctionnement réelles. La Modélisation et la Simulation sont des activités complémentaires visant à définir et à fournir collectivement les données nécessaires à la prise de décision et à la performance des processus du cycle de vie. Pour faciliter les performances de ces processus, il est important d’obtenir une cartographie des types de modèles et de simulations (cartographie M&S), avec une localisation en fonction des phases du cycle de vie, en regard des normes, méthodologies, activités et outils utilisables.

Image_article_MoSimCart

Le projet de cartographie M&S, appelé MoSimCart dans le programme ATLAS, propose un cadre d’évaluation à travers des cas d’utilisation spécifiques. Ce cadre définit les typologies M&S par phase du cycle de vie de l’entité d’intérêt, avec des fonctionnalités pour stocker, interroger et visualiser les éléments d’information collectés, évalués et établis avec des experts des domaines exploités. Un référentiel de cycle de vie proposé également par les membres du groupe de travail permet d’identifier les phases communes de normes en identifiant des relations potentielles entre les types de modèles et de simulations. La figure 1 donne un exemple de caractéristiques considérées comme étant le but, la nature, les langues, les normes et les méthodes.

Le projet MoSimCart vise aussi à fournir des fonctionnalités de visualisation très flexibles et personnalisables afin de montrer les différentes perspectives du point de vue d’un modèle, d’une simulation ou d’une phase de cycle de vie. D’un point de vue, le système propose de visualiser d’autres éléments d’information connexes. Cela permet diverses analyses de cartographie de modèles et de simulations tout au long du cycle de vie d’une entité d’intérêt selon des analyses métiers. La figure 2 donne un exemple de ce qui peut être fait avec une représentation graphique. Pour un modèle donné, des liens sont montrés pour les phases de cycle de vie attendues avec les composants de simulation associés. Ce point de vue centré sur le modèle pourrait passer à un point de vue adapté centré sur la simulation d’une étape du cycle de vie de l’entité d’intérêt.

Les livrables du projet contribuent à mieux formaliser une description de la solution, à améliorer la fiabilité de la solution, à mieux soutenir le cycle de vie de la solution, à améliorer la communication avec les parties prenantes, à mieux gérer la solution et la valeur ajoutée, à améliorer la connaissance, la réutilisation des modèles et des patrons de simulations.

Image2_Article_MoSimCArt

Participants

Thales, Nexter, Airbus et Renault participent à ce projet.

Appel à participation et collaboration

Le programme ATLAS accueille en permanence des nouveaux partenaires aux projets même en cours de développement : pour rejoindre cette initiative contacter Myriam Nouvel ou Pascal Hubert.

Ce projet est ouvert à la collaboration avec d’autres associations à travers le monde, avec l’objectif que cette initiative n’hésitez pas à nous contacter.

CONTACTS

CHEF DE PROJET : 

CHAIRE INDUSTRIELLE :

Pascal Hubert, AFNeT Services

Myriam Nouvel, Thales

Partager cet article

articles LIÉS: